Sir Michael Rawlins to be new President of the Royal Society of Medicine

Professor Sir Michael Rawlins, the current Chairman of NICE (the National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence) has been elected as the next President of the Royal Society of Medicine.

Sir Michael, who will leave NICE in March 2012, having served as Chairman for more than 12 years, will begin his term of Presidency at the RSM in July 2012 when the current President, Professor Parveen Kumar, will demit office.  He will serve as President-Elect from 1 October 2011.

Sir Michael commented, “I feel a very great sense of pride, privilege and responsibility to have been elected to follow Professor Parveen Kumar as President next year.  Healthcare systems, globally, are facing major challenges.  The RSM is extraordinarily well-placed to help resolve these issues and I relish the prospect of playing a part.”

Share this article

More services


This article is featured in:
Companies and People


Comment on this article

You must be registered and logged in to leave a comment about this article.